Mistakes I’ve Made: Part II

These articles are almost turining into a “Dear Diary” saga! But I made a LOT of mistakes, and if I can turn even one person around with one of these articles, well, then it’s all worthwhile.

6. No Legs and No Compound Work

Routine: chest and tri’s day one and three. Back and bi’s day two and four. Legs – never! You can’t see them much in the mirror anyway!

Oh, how wrong I was. Compound exercise involving legs are strongman fuel. Squats, deads, cleans and snatches are a veritable staple of the athlete.

“You’re only as strong as your legs.”

When I first started squatting, I realised how weak I really was. Even now, after three years of very regular squatting I’m still being outlifted by high school athletes! At least I can look back five years and know that I’ve come a long way as an athlete.

7. New Doesn’t Mean Good

The first time I discovered battling ropes, I felt the need to try and damage every single client with them, because it was new.

Was I trying to keep my clients fresh, or was I trying to keep myself fresh? I dare say that the latter is much closer to home.

I got caught up in a new toy, to the detriment of my clients. Was it fun? Well, yeah. For me. Did it help their performance? Probably not.

8. If You Can’t Back It Up, Don’t Say (Use) It!

Myths and rumours gain momentum through hearsay and conjecture. Every trainer, athlete and layperson I know (including myself) has perpetuated a myth without ever actually looking into it.

Reality is that very few strands of information have a scientific justification. I’ve propogated ideas that I myself haven’t fully understood, and after researching them, recognise that I was totally wrong.

I’ve also used exercises that I just couldn’t justify (battling ropes…what was I thinking?). I now try to account for any exercise in a program. If I can’t justify its use (or I’m left slack-jawed and unresponsive when somebody asks me why I’ve got them doing it) then it shouldn’t be there.

9. Dragging Other Training Methods Down

I was, and am, a big culprit of this. Just because I don’t believe or use a method doesn’t mean it doesn’t benefit others. Yoga is the perfect example. I’ve tried it and just can’t get into it. Yet others love it. Fact is, they benefit much more from doing regular yoga than if they weren’t doing anything at all.

Bodybuilding is my other prime target. I bag it out constantly about its shortcomings and its overwhelming reliance on reflections. To bodybuilding’s credit however, (and to be fair a lot of credit) it involves lifting weights, training consistently and keeping a keen eye on diet – three things we could all do and be healthier for it.

10. My New Haircut

’nuff said.

I’m almost certain that there will be more to be said and more stories to be told about my mistakes in the future.

2 Comments

Filed under Exercise and Training

2 responses to “Mistakes I’ve Made: Part II

  1. Sarah

    Dan, your new hair is awesome sauce! my new hair is pink! god dammit, if i can’t make my hair pink once in my life then life just isn’t worth living…

Leave a comment